top of page

a bit of light reading

The coffee table book to end all coffee table books. If you love fashion & photography!

 

As a photographer, visuals really are my thing. I went to college to make movies and have always loved taking pictures. Reading has never been my favorite past time, but when I can find something really really good, I'm all in.

I gravitate towards magazines because it is a nice blend of images and text, and fashion magazines really captivate my attention with their intimate portraits of noted public figures. I came across an advertisement for Vogue: The Editor's Eye in Vogue's September Issue two years ago. Vogue has been coming out with these spellbinding coffee table books that chronicle their history as a game-changing fashion publication.

This particular book caught my attention because it focused on the photography and styling of their editorial photo shoots. In my head I thought, "wow, this is like, everything I could have ever wanted, in one book!" Filled with passages written by some of the industry's most prolific figures, including an Anna Wintour forward of course, the book touches on some of the behind-the-scenes of Vogue's most famous photo shoots. The text captures intimate reflections of stylists, creative directors, photographers, and subjects in some of the most provocative stories you could imagine.

The large format book is most likely intended to be on display as a coffee table adornment, but I like to keep it next to my bed. Before turning in for the night, sometimes I'll thumb through the pages for inspiration from some of the fashion photography inudstry greats like Annie Leibovitz, Mario Testino, and Irving Penn. To me, it's a great reminder of things to aspire to. And it's pretty easy on the eyes too.

Vogue: The Editor's Eye is available on Amazon here

Happy reading!

©Haus of Zodiac 2016


Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Instagram Basic Black
  • Pinterest Basic Black
Categories
Archive
bottom of page